Nordic Health Economic Study Group


Nordic Health Economic Study Group

The 40th Nordic Health Economists' Study Group meeting was held in Reykjavík 21st - 23rd 2019. 

The meeting aim was to bring together researchers who work in the area of health economics and to further the continuous development of health economics as a subdiscipline of economics.

NHESG 2019

Andrew Clark

Andrew Clark holds a PhD from the LSE. He is CNRS Research Professor at the Paris School of Economics, and previously held posts at Dartmouth, Essex, CEPREMAP, DELTA, the OECD and the University of Orléans. 

He uses job and life satisfaction scores, among other psychological indices, as proxy measures of utility. His research has addressed relative utility or comparisons and the use of long-run panel data in collaboration with psychologists to map out habituation to life events. 


Nattavudh (Nick) Powdthavee

Nattavudh (Nick) Powdthavee joined Warwick Business School as a Professor of Behavioural Science in 2016, after holding positions at the London School of Economics, University of Melbourne, Nanyang Technological University, and University of York.

Nick specialises in wellbeing aconomics and behavioural economics and has published over 40 articles in these two broad areas.

Nick served as an Associate Editor for the Journal of Behavioural and Experiment Economics, as a Guest Editor at the Journal of Economic Behavior and Organization, and was the Chief and Founding Editor for the International Journal of Wellbeing. He is the author of "The Happiness Equation: The Surprising Economics of our Most Valuable Asset" and one of the co-authors of "The Origins of Happiness: The Science of Wellbeing over the Life-course".


Visa Pitkänen

Visa Pitkänen got the Best student paper award for the paper "Health care expenditure, availability and utilization: Trade-offs in competitive biddings"

The scientific committee and conference organizers congratulate him and wish him all the best in the future. 



The conference took place at Veröld – House of Vigdís, which is dedicated to the former president of Iceland Vigdís Finnbogadóttir.

Vigdís Finnbogadóttir, born on April 15th, 1930, served as the fourth President of Iceland from 1980 to 1996. She was the world's first democratically directly elected female president. She was and is a beloved figure in Iceland and abroad and remains the longest-serving elected female head of state of any country to date.


  • Arnar Már Búason, University of Iceland (chair)
  • Gawain Heckley, Lund University
  • James Gaughan, University of York
  • Tor Iversen, University of Oslo
  • Anne Oxholm, University of Southern Denmark
  • Katja Grasic, University of York
  • Maria Vaalavuo, National Institute for Health and Welfare

Tinna Laufey Ásgeirsdóttir, University of Iceland - 

August 21st

  • 15:00-16:30  Opening of the conference and keynote address by Andrew Clark, professor at Paris School of Economics
  • 17:00-18:00  Reception by the President of Iceland, Guðni Th. Jóhannesson, at the presidential residence

August 22nd

  • 8:30-17:00  Parallel sessions
  • 19:00          Conference Dinner at Restaurant Kolabrautin located in Harpa Concert Hall

August 23rd

  • 8:30-15:00    Parallel sessions
  • 15:00-16:15  Key-note address by Nattavudh Powdthavee, professor at the University of Warwick
  • 16:15             Business Meeting

Here you can find the detailed scientific program